Recipe

The Best Damn Chocolate Chip Cookies. Ever.

I KNOW, I know, that’s a huge claim.  But in this case, it might actually be true.  Ask the ladies in the office: they clamored for more.  The recipients of my generosity?  They quickly got back to me with “ooohs” of appreciation.  Need a stocking stuffer, or a convenient care package cookie?  This is the one to go for. Ridiculously easy to make, ridiculously fast to bake, and deliciously moist when done.  Perfect!

Unless you’re one of those people who likes their cookies burnt.  But you, you I do not understand.

Now, I’m not usually a cookie maestro.  The first batch of cookies I ever made was for Mother’s Day, somewhere in the mid 1990s, and they came out of the oven swimming in an inch of butter.  I was horrified, ashamed, and very very repulsed.  I vowed I wouldn’t make cookies ever again.

Thank goodness I’m terrible at keeping promises that involve the word “ever.”

Anyway, this particular cookie recipe was introduced to me about four years ago by my then-boyfriend, who proceeded to take over my best friend’s Chicago kitchen one blustery spring day and bake me 5 dozen soft cookies.  At the time, I did not  appreciate his skill.  In my defense, though, I was trying to win a Scrabble game, and he kept leaving the board to go “take the cookies out of the oven” or “put the cookies in the oven” or “bring me a plate of joy.” Seriously.  He was losing, and the best he could come up with was edible distraction.

He still lost.  But with this recipe, we’re all winners.*

The Best Damn Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 packages instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 cups chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350F.

Sift together the flour and baking soda; set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together butter, brown sugar, and white sugar.  Beat in instant pudding mix until blended.  Stir in eggs and vanilla extract, then the flour mixture.  Finally, stir in chocolate chips (and the nuts, if you’re using them).

Drop cookies by rounded spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, until edges are golden brown.

Remove, and enjoy!

I know: the sheer amount of flour is daunting.  But this is for a batch of, say, 72 cookies, so feel free to downsize at will.  The key here is the pudding mix: it makes the cookies moist and fluffy, and will make them incredibly gooey (and prone to separating gently) when you remove them from the oven.  To avoid the fatal separation, then, let them cool just a few moment.  But don’t deny yourself for too long; these babies were made to be eaten warm!

-bisoux

*Oh dear God, was that ever cheesy!  Apologies–I only got 4 hours of sleep last night: the Oscars.  I mean, Dustin Lance Black!

Leave a Reply

