Recipe

Basic Granola Cookies

A FEW weeks ago, I was telling a few friends about my dream of running a small bed-and-breakfast, which would cater to artists and other wanderers.  My friends, far from being impressed (we’re at an age where being impressed is for awed preteens and for true acts of redemption), told me I better learn how to make granola.  “You can’t have an artists’ retreat without serving your own blend of granola,” they proclaimed, and proceeded to throw out recipe suggestions.

At the time, I’d never actually tasted granola.  I spent college avoiding the stuff.  People talked about it as a health food, and I was decidedly and very determinedly unhealthy in college (aside from my freshman year moratorium on carbonated beverages).  After graduating, I had no cause to try it out: granola is not exactly a gourmet standard in the Middle East.  And when I returned to the States, well, I wasn’t exactly moved to try it out.

But last week, browsing in the co-op grocery store by work, I decided enough was enough.  I brought home a bag of Bear Naked Granola and, in a fit of despair, decided that the only thing to do was to bake it.

Because, let’s face it, I’m not a huge fan of granola by itself.  Trail mix never captured my attention, just like granola still remains a mystery to me.  If I want to eat something with milk or yogurt, I’ll just pour myself a bowl of cereal.

This cookie recipe is what came out of that frustration.  I wanted to use the extra butterscotch chips I had lying around, and I needed to make good use of that granola.  The thing I appreciate most about these cookies is that they have crunch.  It’s not just the granola, but the cookie itself; it’s a bit firmer, a bit hardier.  You feel like you’re getting fiber, dessert, and some vestige of healthiness all in one great package.  But go ahead and experiment: raisins, chocolate chips, toffee bits, m’n’ms….

Knock yourself out!

Basic Granola Cookies

  • 1 cup all purpose four
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar (+ 1/3 cup granulated sugar, optional)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup granola (chop clusters if large)
  • 3/4 cup butterscotch chips or semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375F.

In small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a medium bowl, beat together butter, sugar(s), vanilla until pale and fluffy.  It might be easier to use an electric mixer, but I did it by hand and it turned out fine.  Beat in egg until well combined.  Add flour mixture and mix until just combined.  Stir in granola and butterscotch/chocolate chips.

Drop rounded tablespoons onto an ungreased baking sheet.

Bake until pale golden, about 13 minutes.  Remove, cool, and enjoy!

-bisoux

Leave a Reply

