Breakfast · Recipe

Basic Breakfast Biscuits

ALL RIGHT: apologies up front.  I haven’t neglected breakfast for myself, but I have neglected writing about it.  I’ve feasted; I’ve feted; I’ve cooked; I’ve kneaded.  And all I can say in my own defense is that I’ve also moved.

That’s right. I am now ensconced in a four-bedroom flat in Washington Heights, New York City, even though the four bedrooms are only occupied by three people (can I get a shout of “guest room!” Sweet).  We are still arranging our furniture and stocking our pantry, but it’s a home.  We even have the two requisite plants to prove it.

This morning was the first time in the month I’ve been living here that I felt ready to take on the oven and make breakfast.  I’ve been itching a while for a really good biscuit, but between the work, unpacking, and mental mapping to do, I wasn’t ready for a huge project.  So I put away the Paula Deen butter-heavy recipe and went instead with an easier, butter-less version.

I made these biscuits to make New York feel more like home; I made them because my Tennessee roots have been showing (mostly, I think, in a rebellion against the stiffness of much of NYC); I made them to show off to my roommates; I made them because Lexy told me to; I made them because I needed to.

And they were divine.  They didn’t last long, but while they lived, they were wondrous little fluffy beings.  Dotted with apple butter or scored with butter, these little creatures are absolutely delightful.  A great kick to the morning, a citywide homecoming, a return to yourself, a great banner of pleasure for your tastebuds.  Oh lovelies, I can’t wait to make you again!

Basic Breakfast Biscuits

  • 2.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups milk (I used 1%, but I reckon heavy cream or even half & half would be great*)

Preheat oven to 400F.

In a bowl, stir together the dry ingredients.  Add milk (or cream) and stir until a dough forms.

Drop heaping 1/4 cups of batter onto a greased baking sheet.  Bake until tops are golden brown, bottoms browned, about 18-20 minutes.  (I baked these on the bottom rack of my oven, but the middle would probably have been a better idea.)

Slather with jam, butter, or fruit.  Enjoy!

-bisoux

 

*NOTE: using 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup regular milk helps to make the biscuits a bit denser; the addition of a couple of handfuls of grated cheese gives them a more serious mien.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

