Full Complement

Sun Tea

MOVING to New York has certainly been an adventure.  Learning to navigate this city is a challenge, with rewards I’m not always sure I’ve deserved or even want.  I feel at odds here, a bit out of sorts, and that unnerves me.

My natural instinct, when faced with something so overwhelming discomfiting, is to fall back onto my Southern roots.  Biscuits have become an institution by now, and today I decided that sun tea was necessary to my mental survival.

Today was a beautiful day — the kind of beautiful fall day that is soon going to get swept up into cold, blustery, windy days, when scarves wrap themselves a little too tight around your neck and boots start growing up your legs, when mittens become a necessity instead of an option and hats get pulled further down on your ears.

Wanting to take advantage of the beautiful weather, but knowing I had to stay in and be a responsible student, I decided to make sun tea.  It’s easy, it takes time, it doesn’t need babysitting, and it boosts you full of caffeine.  And, if you’re like me, it calls for things you already have in stock.

Fire Escape Sun Tea

  • large jar (I used an old applesauce jar)
  • Cold water
  • 2-3 tea bags, or 2-3 tablespoons of loose leaf tea

Make sure the jar is very clean, as it is possible for bacteria to grow in the tea if the jar isn’t sterilized.  A good, thorough cleaning and immediate drying off should be fine.

Place the tea (either in bags or loose leaf) in the jar and fill with cold water.  Cap tightly and put outside in the sun.  Fire escapes are marvelous for this!  Leave in the sun for 2-3 hours, max 4 hours.

Strain the tea.  (I strained it and returned it to the jar.)  Place in the fridge and leave til cold.  Before drinking, add sugar if you want to.  Et voila, it is done!  A quick summertime ice tea, at pretty much no cost or effort to you.

-bisoux

Leave a Reply

