Recipe

Jam-Filled Baked Pears

SO IT’S BEEN a while.  I admit: grad school threw my schedule for a semester-long loop and I fell off the brunching bandwagon.  Like, bruised-my-tailbone, wrenched-my-knee, scraped-my-wrist kind of falling off the bandwagon. Which doesn’t mean that I’ve been starving: it just means that I haven’t been brunching.

However, the sudden sunny days of February (I know: the weather is whack this winter) sent me in a dither over the pear offerings in my local supermarket.  I’ve made numerous soups with them, but the other day I wanted something sweet and something that preserved the actual shape of the pears.

Et voila: the baked pear.  And because I have a ton of jam in the fridge–I seem to collect jams, as much for the varied flavors as for their jars–I decided to toss  some of that into the mix as well.  Not a bad way to start the day, or end a long evening.

Jam-Filled Baked Pears

  • 2 medium-sized pears; peeled, halved and seeded
  • 4 tsp butter
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 4 tsp jam (I used a peach-apricot medley)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Combine brown sugar and cinnamon; set aside.

Please pear halves, cut side up, in a shallow baking dish.  Place 1tsp butter in the center of each. Drizzle with lemon juice.  Sprinkle cinnamon/sugar mixture over pears.  Top with a tsp-full of jam for each pear.

Bake for about 15-25 minutes, til heated through.  (15-25 minutes can be a long range of time for pears, but people have different preferences for tenderness.  After 15 minutes the pears will be sufficiently baked, and after that it’s a matter of your personal taste in softness.  Me, I prefer not to have to employ a knife when cutting my dessert fruits. 25 minutes for me!)

Serve warm, perhaps with a vanilla bean ice cream.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

